Lito Lapid, No. 1 senator in Palawan

Photo from
- Advertisement -

Last Updated on

Out of the 62 aspiring candidates for senatorial position, actor and former senator Lito Lapid topped the race in the province of Palawan.

This is based on the Election Returns transmitted from 740 of the 762 clustered precincts, totaling 97.11% as of 7:04 A.M., May 16.

Lapid, who reaped 194,326 votes, is followed by Cynthia Villar, a reelectionist Senator endorsed by President Rodrigo R. Duterte, garnering 176,996. Bong Revilla, also a former senator who was just recently acquitted from the pork barrel scam case, claimed the third spot with 163,039 votes.

Senator Grace Poe earned 155,344; Bong Go, former special assistant to the president, earned 139,994 votes; Pia Cayetano, former senator and congresswoman, gained 128,663 votes.

Claiming seventh spot is Edgardo Sonny Angara, followed by Jinggoy Estrada, who is out on bail since September 2017 and currently battling the pork barrel scam case filed against him. Angara had 124,172 votes, while Estrada harvested 110,000 votes.

Votes secured by Bam Aquino, 108,099, Nancy Binay, 104,373, Bato Dela Rosa, 102,507, JV Ejercito, 98,240, Francis Tolentino, 89,250, Imee Marcos, 87,523, and Mar Roxas, 86,437.

So far, there are still 22 precincts that have yet to transmit election results. The delay was due to the SD cards malfunctioned in various polling precincts in the province.

COMELEC officials have been addressing the issue, replacing the damaged SD cards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here